Celebrating The Stars Among Us

Each Year the Women’s University Club of Seattle Foundation awards scholarships to exceptional high school senior women and Women-In-Transition.

On this same evening, the Women’s University Club of Seattle celebrates the “Women of Excellence” of our state who have made an impact by their service to  others.

These two groups provide inspiration to each other as well as the attendees at the annual Brava! Award Banquets

Following is a list of these "Women of Excellence":


Virginia Anderson ~ Director, Seattle Center

Francia Russell ~ Co-Artistic Director, Pacific NW Ballet

Rita Ryder ~Director, Snohomish & King County YWCA


Jeanne Ehrlichman Bluechel ~ Music Education Activist

Linda Hartzell ~ Artistic Director, Seattle Children’s Theatre

Nancy Pearl ~ Director, Washington Center for the Book


Dr. Linda Buck ~ 2004 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine

Assunta Ng ~ Publisher, NW Asian Weekly

Colleen Willoughby ~ President & Founder, Washington Women’s Foundation


Marja Brandon ~ Founder & Executive Director, Seattle Girls’ School

Katharine “Kay” Bullitt ~ Noted Civic Leader & Community Activist

Dr. Bonnie J. Dunbar ~ President & CEO, Seattle’s Museum of Flight


Barbara Bennett ~ Founder, First Place School

Anne Gould Hauberg ~ Arts & Education Activist

Karen Moyer ~ Co-founder, The Moyer Foundation for Children in Distress


Jane Hastings ~ Architect

Deborah Jacobs ~ Seattle City Librarian

Patrinell “Pat” Wright ~ Founder, Total Experience Gospel Choir


Jennifer James ~ Urban Cultural Anthropologist

Jane Jones ~ Founder, Book-It-Theatre

Jean Walkinshaw ~ Producer


Kathy Johnson & Stacy Lill ~ Founders & Owners, O Wines Winery

Lisa Brummel & Ginny Gilder ~ Ownership Team, Seattle Storm

Anne Levinson & Dawn Trudeau ~ Ownership Team, Seattle Storm


Maggie Walker ~ Civic Leader & Philanthropist

Luly Yang ~ Fashion Designer & Entrepreneur

Sister Kathleen Ross & Martha Yallup ~ Founders, Heritage College in Yakima


Ten Year Reunion Celebration ~ No Awards Given


Janis Avery ~ CEO, Treehouse for Kids

The Honorable Bobbe J Bridge ~ Founder & CEO, Children & Youth Justice

Maureen Browning ~ Founder, Friendship Adventures


Women of the Century

Dorothy C Bullitt

Dorothy Stimson Bullitt

Harriet Overton Bullitt

Katharine “Kay” Muller Bullitt

Priscilla “Patsy” Bullitt Collins


Sheila Capestany~ Founder, Open Arms Perinatal Services

Margaret Larson ~ Broadcast Journalist& Host, King 5 TV’s New Day Northwest

Mary Yu ~ Washington State Supreme Court Justice


Sara Boos ~ Artistic Directory, Northwest Girl choir

Barbara Earl Thomas ~ Noted Artist, Writer & Former Director of the African American Museum

Trina Westerlund ~ Founder, Children’s Institute for Learning Differences


Leslie Jackson Chihuly ~ President, Chihuly Studios & Advocate for the Arts

Janet Jones Preston ~ Global Humanitarian & Community Leader

Megan Karch ~ CEO, FareStart


WUC Community Civic Leaders

Catherine Gibson

Frances Heaverlo

Karen Lane

Pearl Noreen

Carolyn Quatier

Karen Wong